Carol Kirkwood and EastEnders are among the winners at the 2016 Tric Awards

Last night, stars from TV and radio turned out in force for the 2016 Television Radio Industries Club (Tric) Awards at London's Grosvenor Hotel.

Among the winners were: BBC Breakfast's Carol Kirkwood, who beat fellow weather presenter Tomasz Schafenaker, to win the Weather Presenter award;  DJ Nick Grimshaw, who pipped veterans Chris Evans and Simon Mayo to the post in the Digital Radio Personality category; and EastEnders star Adam Woodyatt, who was voted Soap Personality, ahead of his EastEnders co-star Linda Henry (Shirley) and Corrie's David Neilson (Roy).

Collecting his digital radio personality award, Nick said: “There were two things I wanted to do as a teenager. One was to present the Radio 1 breakfast show and the other was David Beckham.”

Bill Turnbull

Bill Turnbull was named news presenter/reporter of the year (Ian West/PA)

Bill Turnbull, who recently stepped down as BBC Breakfast presenter after nearly 15 years in the role, was awarded the news presenter/reporter of the year accolade.

Receiving the award from his former co-presenter Sian Williams, he said: “I deserve the award for being the first presenter to say the c-word live on breakfast television.”

Turnbull later explained that he accidentally swore after stumbling over the words “customer”‘ and “client”.

Leigh Francis aka Keith Lemon

Leigh Francis aka Keith Lemon (Ian West/PA)

Celebrity Juice was awarded the satellite digital programme prize.

Collecting the award, comedian Leigh Francis, who plays Keith Lemon, joked about a brooch worn by host Kate Garraway, comparing it to a Jim’ll Fix It medal.

Collecting his award, he said: “I want to thank all the people who came and asked for a picture while I was eating dinner.”

Strictly Come Dancing wins the Reality Programme Award, presented by Linda Barker (right), at the TRIC Awards, held at the Grosvenor House Hotel, London.

Strictly Come Dancing won the Reality Programme Award, presented by Linda Barker (Ian West/PA)

Grand Designs beat Paul O’Grady – For The Love Of Dogs and The Hunt for factual programme, while Downton Abbey was awarded HD drama programme of the year.

Strictly Come Dancing took the reality programme prize and Pointless was named daytime show of the year. Peter Kay sent a video message after winning the entertaining programme prize for Car Share.

EastEnders was named soap of the year, while Silent Witness was awarded the crime programme prize. The Tric special award went to hospital drama Casualty after 30 years on BBC1.

Eastenders' Riley Carter Millington, Danny-Boy Hatchard, Lin Blakley, Diane Parish, Lacey Turner, Roger Sloman and Neil Stuke

Eastenders’ Riley Carter Millington, Danny-Boy Hatchard, Lin Blakley, Diane Parish,

Lacey Turner, Roger Sloman and Neil Stuke (Ian West/PA)

Speaking after the awards, EastEnders actor Danny-Boy Hatchard said there was “friendly rivalry” with ITV soap Coronation Street.

“We know it may be their time next year or the year after that,” he said. “It’s not going to be a continuing process of EastEnders winning every award going for the next 30 years.

“It’s good. It’s competition. It keeps us on our toes.”

The full list of winners is listed below…

• HD sports programme – Match Of The Day

• Weather presenter – Carol Kirkwood

Carol Kirkwood.

(Ian West/PA)

• Sports presenter – Jeff Stelling

• Digital radio personality – Nick Grimshaw

Nick Grimshaw.

(Ian West/PA)

• TV personality of the year – Ant and Dec

• News presenter/reporter – Bill Turnbull

• Soap personality – Adam Woodyatt (EastEnders’ Ian Beale)

• Factual programme – Grand Designs

Grand Designs presenter Kevin McCloud.

(Fiona Hanson/PA)

• Satellite/digital programme – Celebrity Juice

• HD drama programme of the year – Downton Abbey

The Downton Abbey cast.

(Jordan Strauss/AP)

• Digital radio programme – The Chris Evans Breakfast Show

• Reality programme – Strictly Come Dancing

Strictly Come Dancing's (L-R) Aljaz Skorjanec, Janette Manrara, Lisa Snowdon, Aliona Vilani, Georgia May Foote, Giovanni Pernice and Kevin Clifton.

(Ian West/PA)

• Daytime programme – Pointless

• Crime programme of the year – Silent Witness

• Entertainment programme – Peter Kay’s Car Share

• TV soap of the year – EastEnders

• Tric special award – Casualty

PA Media is the national news agency for the UK and Ireland. With unrivalled access to the performers, productions and celebrities on both sides of the Atlantic, PA Media stories provide an irresistible glimpse into showbiz news. Bringing you all of entertainment's big moments. From daily soaps to film productions, we cover the shows that audiences want to know about with our previews, news and interviews.