Skip to main content

Who's up for a National Television Award? The NTAs shortlist revealed here...

NTAs host Dermot O’Leary: ‘I always love the upsets!’

The NTAs build-up has begun...

The shortlist for this year’s National Television Awards has just been announced and voting is now open for all your favourite telly shows and stars! The NTAs ceremony will be screened live on ITV from London’s O2 arena on Tuesday 22 January, with Dermot O’Leary once again hosting the glittering event.

One of the night’s biggest battles will see Killing Eve’s Jodie Comer and Doctor Who’s Jodie Whittaker go head-to head for Best Drama Performance. But they’ll face fierce competition from Michelle Keegan (Our Girl) Cillian Murphy (Peaky Blinders) and Richard Madden (Bodyguard), who’s just won a Golden Globe for his role.

Jodie Whittaker new picture as first female Time Lord. She will appear in the Doctor Who Christmas special 2018

Doctor Who's Jodie Whittaker is up for gong (Image credit: Copyright BBC Worldwide 2017)

The brand new category, Best New Drama, has top-rating BBC1 show Bodyguard up against against BBC1's sleeper hit Killing Eve. Also short-listed are Sky One's supernatural drama A Discovery of Witches, ITV's Girlfriends and Jenna Coleman's BBC1 drama The Cry.

There are plenty of other telly favourites up for an NTA gong too, including ITV’s Love Island, Ant & Dec’s Saturday Night Takeaway and I’m a Celebrity… all fighting it out in The Bruce Forsyth Entertainment Award, and The Great British Bake Off and Gogglebox hoping to win Best Factual Entertainment.

Meanwhile, could this finally be Holly Willoughby’s year to steal Ant & Dec’s Best TV Presenter crown? The comedy duo have won for a record 17 years, but there’s stiff competition for Holly, with Bradley Walsh, Graham Norton and her This Morning co-host Philip Schofield also up for the gong.

Holly and Dec main I'm a Celeb

After co-hosting I'm A Celebrity with Dec, is this Holly's year at the NTAs? (Image credit: ITV)

As usual, the battle among the soaps is also set to be as intense as ever. Emmerdale have won it two years in a row but can they make it a hat trick and beat off Corrie, EastEnders and Hollyoaks? It’s all up to you!

HOW TO VOTE Vote free at where you can see the full shortlist of nominations. Or call 0905 647 2019 (calls cost 25p per min plus network-access charge). Voting closes at noon on 22 January.