Skip to main content

NTAs exclusive: Voting begins for the National Television Awards

NTAs host Dermot O’Leary: ‘I always love the upsets!’

Find out which stars are in the running for the National Television Awards 2018...and how you can start voting for your NTAs favourites now...

There's great news for all telly fans as The National Television Awards is back live on ITV on Tuesday January 23, with Dermot O Leary hosting the glittering night.

Look out for a special tribute to the late Sir Bruce Forsyth, with the Entertianment Award named after him this year. The Bruce Forsyth Entertainment Award is in recognition of the ultimate entertainer’s unique 75-year career in showbiz.

Bruce Forsyth Strictly

(Image credit: BBC)

National treasure Sir Bruce had a close history with the NTAs. The show celebrated his iconic status with the illustrious Special Recognition Award in 2011. On accepting the accolade from Stephen Fry, he said: “It’s so overwhelming – the best thing I’ve ever won”. The following year, Bruce created another classic TV moment when he opened the NTAs by singing Let There Be Love with Ant & Dec.

Nominations for The Bruce Forsyth Entertainment Award include A Question Of Sport,  Little Big Shots, The Graham Norton Show, Blind Date and All Round To Mrs Brown's.

Among the big battles this year are within the new Crime Drama category which sees Line of Duty and Broadchurch take on Strike and Sherlock.

There are plenty of your other favourites up for an NTAs gong too, including Doctor Foster, Car Share. Love island and Bake off. The TV Judge Category sees new judges Prue Leith (The Great British Bake Off) and Shirley Ballas (Strictly Come Dancing) going up against each other.

The battle among the soaps is as intense as ever in the Serial Drama Performance Award, wth Danny Dyer, Charlotte Bellamy, Lacey Turner, Jamie Lomas, Chris Gascoyne, Diane Parish and Connor McIntyre among those nominated.

Meanwhile the Best Newcomer Award is an all-soap battle between Danny Walters (EastEnders), Ned Porteous (Emmerdale), Rob Mallard (Coronation Street) and Nathan Morris (Hollyoaks).

HOW TO VOTE Voting for the National Television Awards runs from today, October 10, to 11pm on October 27 online at or call 0844 646 2060 for a voting form (Calls cost 5p plus your network access charge). The NTAs shortlist will be revealed in January when the final round of voting begins. Tickets for the event are also on the NTAs website (above) or call the ticket line on 0844 824 4824 (calls cost 7p per minute plus your network access charge).