Skip to main content

Enid Blyton classic Malory Towers heading to BBC – but it has a twist!

Malory Towers books by Enid Blyton
(Image credit: Alamy Stock Photo)

Blyton stories to be given a contemporary spin

Enid Blyton classic book series Malory Towers is being adapted into a new live-action drama for children’s channel, CBBC.

Set in the 1940s on the sun-drenched Cornish coast, the Enid Blyton adventures follow 12-year-old Darrell Rivers as she leaves home for the first time to attend an all-girls’ boarding school, where she enjoys lasting friendships and midnight feasts.

The Beeb also revealed that the books will be given a modern twist as the 13-part series tells the story of “universal experiences such as shifting cliques, FOMO, bullying, crushes, peer pressure, and self-doubt”.

Cheryl Taylor, Head of Content for BBC Children’s, said: "Malory Towers remains hugely popular with fans of all ages and we’re delighted to welcome mischievous Darrell Rivers and her pals to CBBC.”

Meanwhile, another new series is heading to CBBC, Andy And The Band, featuring CBeebies favourite Andy Day. It revolves around a band called The Odd Socks, who love being different. Being an Odd Sock member means “digging your differences, bigging-up your bizarre bits, taking on the world AND helping everyone else in the world be whatever kind of Odd Sock they want to be too”.

MORE: 7 things you didn't know about Justin Fletcher, aka Mr Tumble

Andy will also be hosting a new series for CBeebies called Andy’s Aquatic adventures. And Justin Fletcher, also known as Mr Tumble to millions of young fans, will be back for a new series of Justin’s House.

Meanwhile, CBBC also announced a spin-off from their popular show The Dengineers. Called the GarDengineers, it will see green-fingered experts help children create special places in their gardens.

The first Malory Towers book - First Term At Malory Towers - was published in 1946. Enid Blyton eventually wrote six Malory Towers books. Her other famous novels include The Faraway Tree, Secret Seven and Famous Five series.

Main image of Malory Towers books: Alamy Stock Photo.

David is the What To Watch Editor and has over 20 years of experience in television journalism. He is currently writing about the latest television and film news for What To Watch.

Before working for What To Watch, David spent many years on TV Times magazine, interviewing some of television's most famous stars including Hollywood actor Kiefer Sutherland, singer Lionel Richie and wildlife legend Sir David Attenborough. 

David started out as a writer on TV Times before becoming the title's deputy features editor and then features editor. During his time on TV Times, David also helped run the annual TV Times Awards. David is a huge Death in Paradise fan, although he's still failed to solve a case before the show's detective! He also loves James Bond and controversially thinks that Timothy Dalton was an excellent 007.

Other than watching and writing about telly, David loves playing cricket, going to the cinema, trying to improve his tennis and chasing about after his kids!