Skip to main content

Metallica 40th Anniversary Live: How to stream online

Metallica The Coda Collection
(Image credit: The Coda Collection)

One of the most popular bands in music history, Metallica recently celebrated their 40th anniversary with a special two night concert event. The concert took place in San Francisco and tickets were limited, but Metallica fans all over the world were able to tune in to watch the Metallica 40th Anniversary Live concert via Prime Video on Dec. 17 and Dec. 19. If you missed the live stream, you still have a chance to watch the concert on-demand this Christmas, starting on Dec. 24 through Dec. 27. 

A partnership between The Coda Collection, Amazon Music and Prime Video will bring a free global live stream of the two Metallica concerts from the Chase Center in San Francisco. This is the first event of a new exclusive partnership between Metallica and The Coda Collection, a subscription streaming channel available via Prime Video that offers exclusive and curated music documentaries, concert films and more, both new and old. In 2022, concert films, documentaries and additional content spanning Metallica’s entire career will stream exclusively on The Coda Collection.

The Metallica 40th Anniversary Live concert is going to be available on-demand from 9 p.m. PT (midnight ET, 5 a.m. GMT) on Dec. 24 through 8:59 p.m. PT (11:59 p.m. ET/4:59 a.m. GMT) on Dec. 27. Here is what you need to know to watch the live stream.

How to stream the Metallica 40th Anniversary Live concert

The on-demand recording of the Metallica 40th Anniversary Live concert will be available to stream from U.S. fans’ homes or via a mobile device via The Coda Collection, which is available for as a Prime Video channel that requires a subscription and costs $4.99 per month. For international Metallica fans, they can watch the on-demand concert simply through Prime Video.

However, you need to make sure that your setup is able to play Prime Video. The good news about that is Prime Video is just about everywhere and can be played on a computer, mobile device, a smart TV, Roku, Apple TV, Android TV and the PlayStation and Xbox gaming consoles; it is also, of course, available through Amazon Fire TV devices.

Where you are going to need a Prime Video subscription is if you want to follow up and see the exclusive Metallica content that will premiere on The Coda Collection streaming channel in 2022. In that case, Prime Video is included as part of an Amazon Prime subscription, which costs $12.99 per month or $119 for a full year.

Michael Balderston is a D.C.-based entertainment writer and assistant managing editor for What to Watch. He previously has written for TV Technology and Awards Circuit.