'In Sacred Islands with Ben Fogle' — everything you need to know

Ben Fogle, presenter of In Sacred Islands with Ben Fogle
Ben Fogle. (Image credit: Mike Marsland/WireImage)

In Sacred Islands with Ben Fogle is Ben's latest adventure. After his journey to Pripyat in Inside Chernobyl, the British adventurer and broadcaster is now heading back to the country he once called “the most beautiful place on Earth”, Scotland. 

In what Ben calls his "dream series", he's returning to the many Scottish islands to try and find out just what it is about each island that has affected him so much. Along the way, he’ll be meeting the locals and learning each islands’ secrets.

BBC Scotland commissioning editor Steve Allen said that, “It will give audiences an insight into the profound effect Ben’s 20 year love affair with Scotland’s islands has had on him, and what it is that draws him back.”

Here’s everything you need to know about In Sacred Islands with Ben Fogle! 

In Sacred Islands with Ben Fogle release date

In Sacred Islands with Ben Fogle debuts on BBC Scotland on Tuesday 5 Oct. at 8pm. It will then be shown on BBC1 on Sunday 10 Oct.

Where is Ben going? 

In this new series, Ben Fogle is returning to the country he fell in love with twenty years ago in Castaway 2000. Ben has called In Sacred Islands a "personal pilgrimage" which sees him rediscovering what fascinated him about Scotland all those years ago. 

On this new adventure, Ben will travel to the beating heart of community and spirituality in Scotland as he travels from the Western and Northern Isles to the Inner Hebrides.

Ben says: “Castaway changed me in so many ways. I was not the star of Castaway, the island of Taransay was, the Outer Hebrides was, Scotland was. I’m still fascinated by Scotland’s islands. The remoteness, the peace, the wonder — I even named my daughter Iona after one. 

“I’m lucky to have been to a lot of places but to me these islands are the most beautiful on Earth. This is where my roots really are, where I feel spiritually at home. This is my dream series. It’s like a personal pilgrimage.”

Over the four episodes, some of the places Ben will be travelling to are Tiree, Taransay, Iona, Harris, South Uist and the Shetland Isles.

The first episode sees him travel across the Inner Hebrides, visiting Tiree, Coll, the Treshnish Isles and Iona. He follows the ancient 'Hebridean Sea Highways' and discovers vivid connections to sixth century Christian Missionaries. He also meets the different people living within these areas who all have their own unique stories to tell. 

How many episodes are there?

There are four episodes of this new documentary series. 

Is there a trailer? 

Not yet, but we will update this guide when we get one! 

Martin Shore
Staff Writer at WhatToWatch.com

Martin is a Staff Writer with WhatToWatch.com, where he produces a variety of articles focused on the latest and greatest films and TV shows. 

Some of his favorite shows are What We Do In The Shadows, Bridgerton, Gangs of London, The Witcher, Doctor Who, and Ghosts. When he’s not watching TV or at the movies, Martin’s probably still in front of a screen playing the latest video games, reading, or watching the NFL.