How to watch the 2023 MLB All-Star Game: when, where and everything else you need to know

Shohei Ohtani steps up to the plate as the Angels take on the Orioles
Shohei Ohtani of the Los Angeles Angels (Image credit: Getty UK)

July is a special time for baseball fans as the MLB All-Star Game, aka the Midsummer Classic, returns for its 93rd year. These days it’s more than just the All-Star Game — it’s All-Star Week, with plenty of things to keep fans entertained.

There are four main events to watch for during the celebration: The 2022 Futures Game, the MLB All-Star Celebrity Softball Tournament, the Home Run Derby and the All-Star Game. 

Thanks to the various licensing deals MLB has in place across the different networks and streaming platforms, each event is on a different channel. But don’t worry — we’ve got you covered with a guide to how to watch each event.  

Here’s everything you need to know to watch the 2023 All-Star Game and all of the other exciting features of MLB All-Star Week.

2023 MLB All-Star Game

How to watch the 2023 MLB All-Star Game

The marquee event of All-Star Week is the Midsummer Classic itself. The All-Star Game takes place Tuesday, July 11, live from T-Mobile Park in Seattle, Washington. You can catch all of the action starting at 8:00 pm ET/5:00 pm PT on Fox. 

Fox is available through most cable providers. If you’ve cut the cord, you can access the channel through live TV providers like FuboTV, Hulu Plus Live TV, Sling TV and YouTube TV

2023 MLB All-Star Game Rosters

This year’s All-Star Game rosters feature seasoned veterans and a host of newcomers making their ASG debut. 

There have been some roster changes from the initial announcements after teams wrapped up the first half of the season on Sunday, July 9. You can find all of the changes and the full list of reserves here

The starting lineups are listed below. * denotes injury, with replacement players marked with a +.

American League Starters

  • C — Jonah Heim, Texas Rangers
  • 1B — Yandy Díaz, Tampa Bay Rays
  • 2B — Marcus Semien, Texas Rangers
  • 3B — Josh Jung, Texas Rangers
  • SS — Corey Seager, Texas Rangers
  • OF — Mike Trout*, Los Angeles Angels
  • OF — Randy Arozarena, Tampa Bay Rays
  • OF — Aaron Judge*, New York Yankees
  • DH — Shohei Ohtani, Los Angeles Angels (2nd)

American League Reserves

  • C: Salvador Perex (Kansas City Royals)
  • C: Adley Rutschman (Baltimore Orioles)
  • IF: Vladimir Guerrero Jr., Toronto Blue Jays
  • IF: Whit Merrified, Toronto Blue Jays
  • IF: Bo Bichette, Toronto Blue Jays
  • IF: José Ramírez, Cleveland Guardians
  • IF: Wander Franco, Tampa Bay Rays+
  • OF: Luis Robert Jr., Chicago White Sox
  • OF: Austin Hays, Baltimore Orioles
  • OF: Yordan Alvarez, Houston Astros
  • OF: Adolis García, Texas Rangers
  • OF: Kyle Tucker, Houston Astros+
  • OF: Julio Rodriguez, Seattle Mariners+
  • DH: Brent Rooker, Oakland Athletics

American League Pitchers

  • Shohei Ohtani, Los Angeles Angels
  • Gerrit Cole, New York Yankees
  • Luis Castillo, Seattle Mariners
  • Sonny Gray, Minnesota Twins
  • Nathan Eovaldi, Texas Rangers
  • Kevin Gausman, Toronto Blue Jays
  • Shane McClanahan, Tampa Bay Rays*
  • Framber Valdez, Houston Astros*
  • Michael Lorenzen, Detroit Tigers
  • George Kirby, Seattle Mariners+
  • Pablo López, Minnesota Twins
  • Jordan Romano, Toronto Blue Jays
  • Kenley Jansen, Boston Red Sox (Reliever)
  • Emmanuel Clase, Cleveland Guardians* (Reliever)
  • Félix Bautista, Baltimore Orioles (Reliever)
  • Yennier Cano, Baltimore Orioles (Reliever)
  •  Carlos Estévez, Los Angeles Angels+ (Reliever) 

National League Starters

  • C — Sean Murphy, Atlanta Braves
  • 1B — Freddie Freeman, Los Angeles Dodgers
  • 2B — Luis Arraez, Miami Marlins
  • 3B — Nolan Arenado, Seattle Mariners
  • SS — Orlando Acacia, Atlanta Braves 
  • OF — Ronald Acuña Jr., Atlanta Braves 
  • OF — Mookie Betts, Los Angeles Dodgers (6th) 
  • OF — Corbin Carroll, Arizona Diamondbacks
  • DH — J.D. Martinez, Los Angeles Dodgers

National League Reserves

  • C: Will Smith, Los Angeles Dodgers
  • C: Elias Díaz, Colorado Rockies
  • IF: Matt Olson, Atlanta Braves
  • IF: Ozzie Albies, Atlanta Braves
  • IF: Austin Riley, Atlanta Braves
  • IF: Dansby Swanson, Chicago Cubs*
  • IF: Pete Alonso, New York Mets
  • IF: Geraldo Perdomo, Arizona Diamondbacks+
  • OF: Lourdes Gurriel Jr., Arizona Diamondbacks
  • OF: Nick Castellanos, Philadelphia Phillies
  • OF: Juan Soto, San Diego Padres
  • DH: Jorge Soler, Miami Marlins

National League Pitchers

  • Zac Gallen, Arizona Diamondbacks
  • Spencer Strider, Atlanta Braves*
  • Bryce Elder, Atlanta Braves*
  • Justin Steele, Chicago Cubs
  • Mitch Keller, Pittsburgh Pirates
  • Josiah Gray, Washington Nationals
  • Clayton Kershaw, Los Angeles Dodgers*
  • Marcus Stroman, Chicago Cubs*
  • Kodai Senga, New York Mets+
  • Alex Cobb, San Francisco Giants+
  • Corbin Burnes, Milwaukee Brewers+
  • Alexis Díaz , Cincinnati Reds (Reliever)
  • Josh Hader, San Diego (Reliever)
  • Devin Williams, Milwaukee Brewers (Reliever)*
  • Camilo Doval, San Francisco Giants (Reliever)
  • David Bednar, Pittsburgh Pirates (Reliever)+
  • Craig Kimbrel, Philadelphia Phillies (Reliever)+

2023 Home Run Derby

The Home Run Derby is one of the most entertaining events of All-Star Week, with MLB’s top sluggers swinging for the fences at T-Mobile Park in Seattle. This year's competition features seasoned veterans and newcomers looking to crush some balls and earn the title. 

Here's the breakdown of the participants and the first round brackets. Note: brackets were determined by the number of home runs as of July 4.

  • No. 1 Luis Robert Jr. (Chicago White Sox) vs. No. 8 Adley Rutschman (Baltimore Orioles)
  • No. 2 Pete Alonso (New York Mets) vs. No. 7 Julio Rodriguez (Seattle Mariners)
  • No. 3 Mookie Betts (Los Angeles Dodgers) vs. No. 6 Vladimir Guerrero Jr. (Toronto Blue Jays)
  • No. 4  Adolis García (Texas Rangers) vs. No. 5 Randy Arozarena (Tampa Bay Rays)

How to watch the 2023 Home Run Derby

ESPN is the home for all of the 2023 Home Run Derby action. The Home Run Derby takes place live from T-Mobile Field in Seattle on Monday, July 10, at 8 pm ET/5 pm PT. 

ESPN plans for six hours of derby-related programming available, starting with a special two-hour edition of Baseball Tonight at 4 pm ET. Broadcast live from LA, the show will feature host Kevin Connors and guests Tim Kurkjian, Jessica Mendoza, Chris Burke, Jeff Passan, Kyle Peterson and Xavier Scruggs. 

A Home Run Derby Statcast alternate viewing experience is going to be available on ESPN2. A special Statcast edition of Baseball Tonight with hosts Jason Benetti, Mendoza and MLB Statcast analyst Mike Petriello will kick off at 7:30 pm ET.

ESPN is a cable network provided by most cable subscription services, though always good to confirm yours carries the sports network. ESPN is also available through select live TV streaming services, including FuboTV, Hulu with Live TV, Sling TV and YouTube TV.

Sarabeth Pollock
Editorial Content Producer


Sarabeth joined the What to Watch team in May 2022. An avid TV and movie fan, her perennial favorites are The Walking Dead, American Horror Story, true crime documentaries on Netflix and anything from Passionflix. You’ve Got Mail, Ocean's Eleven and Signs are movies that she can watch all day long. She's also a huge baseball fan, and hockey is a new favorite.  

When she's not working, Sarabeth hosts the My Nights Are Booked Podcast and a blog dedicated to books and interviews with authors and actors. She also published her first novel, Once Upon an Interview, in 2022.