The Bridgerton books in order: How to read every Bridgerton novel

Queen Charlotte (Golda Rosheuvel) in full costume with her dog on her lap, with Brimsley (Hugh Sachs) stood behind her in Queen Charlotte: A Bridgerton story
Planning on reading the Bridgerton books ahead of the Queen Charlotte spin-off? (Image credit: Liam Daniel/Netflix )

Want to read the Bridgerton books in order?

Bridgerton season 2 dazzled us with more goings-on from the beloved Netflix period drama in early 2022, but we haven't been back to the ton since, and we won't be seeing more from the series until the spin-off series Queen Charlotte: A Bridgerton Story comes along in May 2023. 

If you’re looking for a good way to fill the void between now and then, or you want to get ahead of the story so you’re ready for Bridgerton season 3 to tell Penelope and Colin’s love story, then you might decide to turn to Julia Quinn's Bridgerton books.

If you haven’t come across them before, the hugely popular Bridgerton novels were penned by New York Times and Sunday Times bestselling author, Julia Quinn. The book series chronicling the lives of the Bridgerton siblings was originally published between 2000 and 2006, long before Shonda Rhimes and original showrunner Chris Van Dusen turned them into one of the best Netflix originals to date.

Set in the competitive world of Regency-era London between 1813 and 1827, the novels are concerned with the lives and romantic exploits of the eight Bridgerton siblings: Anthony, Benedict, Colin, Daphne, Eloise, Francesca, George, and Hyacinth. 

Here's how to read the Bridgerton books in order.

The Bridgerton books in order

Bridgerton season 3

Colin and Penelope's love story (book 4) is the next story to play out in the show.  (Image credit: Netflix)

The correct reading order for Julia Quinn's main Bridgerton novels is:

Following the Bridgerton novels is very simple, as the books were published in chronological order. So, you'll start your Bridgerton journey following Daphne Bridgerton and the Duke of Hastings's love story in The Duke and I, and work your way through to On The Way To The Wedding

You'll note that the show has diverted from the reading order once you get to book three, as the third book in the series, An Offer From A Gentleman, revolves around Benedict's love affair with Sophie Beckett. However, we already know that series 3 is focusing on Benedict's younger brother, Colin, and his romance with Penelope Featherington.

Are there any spin-off Bridgerton books?

If you've already devoured the entire Bridgerton saga, Julia Quinn has produced an extra book titled The Bridgertons: Happily Ever After (2013)

This book collects together Julia Quinn's so-called 'second epilogues' from the end of each book in the main series, but it also contains a brand new novella centered on Violet Bridgerton, the family matriarch.

If you're ready to get to know a new family from the ton, you could also try dipping into Quinn's ongoing Rokesby series. Set in the late 1700s, the Rokesby saga follows the aristocratic Rokesby family, who were neighbors and close friends with the Bridgerton lot.

Along with learning all about the Rokesbys, this prequel series includes more scandalous stories involving members of families, plus the chance to see what a few of your favorite Bridgerton siblings were like when they were younger! 

There are currently four Rokesby books, and the reading order for this prequel series is:

If you're after even more gossip from Lady Whistledown, whose scandalous columns narrate the first four books, you should also consider picking up The Further Observations of Lady Whistledown (2003) and Lady Whistledown Strikes Back (2004).

These two anthologies contain novellas written by Julia Quinn, Suzanne Enoch, Karen Hawkins, and Mia Ryan. In both collections, each story comes complete with a Lady Whistledown column (written by Quinn) wherein the gossip columnist comments on the characters in each story in her trademark style.

Is there a Queen Charlotte book?

Young King George (Corey Mylchreest) with his hand oustretched to Young Queen Charlotte (India Amarteifio) in Queen Charlotte: A Bridgerton Story on Netflix.

We're getting a new Bridgerton story about King George and Queen Charlotte to tie in with the show! (Image credit: Liam Daniel/Netflix)

Yes! Julia Quinn and Shonda Rhimes have co-written a new book all about Queen Charlotte and her romance with King George III. The new prequel—also titled Queen Charlotte—will be released on May 9th, 2023, just five days after the new series arrives.

Inspired by the upcoming Queen Charlotte spin-off, this new novel in the Bridgerton cycle charts the two royals' love story, and how it sparked societal change. The summary of the new novel explains that the pair were married mere hours after they met for the first time, and describes how Charlotte has to quickly grasp the intricacies of being at court. 

Season 1 and 2 of Bridgerton are available to stream right now on Netflix.

More Bridgerton

Martin Shore
Staff Writer at

Martin is a Staff Writer with, where he produces a variety of articles focused on the latest and greatest films and TV shows. 

Some of his favorite shows are What We Do In The Shadows, Bridgerton, Gangs of London, The Witcher, Doctor Who, and Ghosts. When he’s not watching TV or at the movies, Martin’s probably still in front of a screen playing the latest video games, reading, or watching the NFL.