Skip to main content

How to watch La Liga soccer in 2021

Atletico Madrid´s players celebrate with the trophy at the Wanda Metropolitano stadium in Madrid on May 23, 2021 after winning the Spanish Liga Championship title.
Atletico Madrid celebrate winning the La Liga Championship title May 23, 2021. (Image credit: Javier Soriano/Getty Images)

La Liga is Spain's premier football (soccer!) league. The top-tier league is home to plenty of exciting teams and players, and is the equivalent of the Bundesliga in Germany, the English Premier League, or Serie A in Italy. 

In 2021, it's easier than ever for US viewers to watch every single La Liga game, thanks to a brand new partnership with ESPN and ESPN Plus.

And that actually answers the ultimate question of how you can watch La Liga in the United States in 2021. For the next eight seasons, you'll be able to watch hundreds of games each season on ESPN+. 

The 2021-22 La Liga season started in August. Matchday 5 ended with an awful lot of draws: Elche vs Levante (1-1), Mallorca vs Villarreal (0-0), Real Betis vs Espanyol (2-2), Barcelona vs Granada (1-1), Real Sociedad (0-0), and Atletico Madrid v Athletic Bilbao (0-0) all ended in ties. 

The biggest win of the 5th round was Rayo Vallecano's 3-0 victory over Getafe. Osasuna also managed to defeat Alaves 2-0 on September 18. As things stand right now, it's Real Madrid out in front on 13 points, with Atletico Madrid behind them on 11 points.

Here's everything you need to know about watching La Liga soccer for the rest of the 2021/22 season.

How to watch La Liga soccer in the United States

The 91st season of La Liga football — soccer! — sees a big change for fans in the United States. It's the first time that ESPN Plus becomes the exclusive home for the league in America. And throughout the season we'll find games across the greater ESPN and ABC platforms.

But every game — more than 380 this season — will be available in English and in Spanish on ESPN+. ESPN Plus is the streaming service from the eponymous sports network that is home to all things sports that simply don't fit on the existing ESPN channels. 

We're talking live sports like — well, every single sport you can think or. Baseball. Football. The other football. MMA. Boxing. Cycling. Rugby. Whatever. If it's a sport, there's a pretty good chance you'll be able to watch it live at some point on ESPN+. There's also a healthy dose of original content, too, with shows from the likes of Peyton Manning, Abby Wambach, and more.

ESPN Plus's price increased to $6.99 (or $69.99 a year) for new subscribers back in August. Current subscribers will see that increase on their next bill. 

And you're able to watch ESPN+ on just about any modern digital device, from your phone to your television. Just fire up the ESPN app and you're good to go.

How to watch La Liga football in the UK

In the UK, you can watch the top Spanish league on LaLiga TV, a football channel dedicated to top-tier Spanish football that was launched last year by broadcaster Premier Sports. It's now even easier to watch LaLiga TV, as it has since been made available as an Amazon Prime Video Channel.

Adding LaLiga TV to your Amazon Prime subscription costs an additional £7.99 a month, and gives you 24/7 access to the channel. The channel offers in-depth analysis, interviews and live English-language coverage of available live matches from La Liga from Spanish football experts such as Guillem Balagué, Albert Ferrer, Sid Lowe, Andrea Orlandi.  

UK football fans will also recognize Gary Lineker, who has recently signed after leaving his role presenting Champions League coverage for BT Sport.

Bear in mind that you will need to be a paying Amazon Prime member in order to add La Liga TV to your subscription. An Amazon Prime subscription will run you £7.99 or £79 a year.

Additional matches are also shown on Premier Sports' other channels, including their two major channels and Free Sports.

Which teams are in La Liga this year?

Below is a list of the 20 teams competing in La Liga this year. As with other major European soccer leagues, the teams that feature in La Liga change each season. 

Wondering how those teams are decided? At the end of the previous season, the bottom three teams in La Liga are automatically "relegated" to the Segunda Division, the league immediately below La Liga. Those relegated teams are replaced by the top two teams and a third play-off winner from the Segunda Division, who are promoted up the ranks to play alongside the likes of Barcelona and Real Madrid.

For the current season, Rayo Vallecano, RCD Espanyol de Barcelona, and RCD Mallorca were promoted from the Segunda Division. They replaced SD Huesca, Real Valladolid CF and Eibar.

  • Alavés
  • Athletic Bilbao
  • Atlético Madrid
  • Barcelona
  • Cádiz
  • Celta Vigo
  • Elche
  • Espanyol
  • Getafe
  • Grana
  • Levane
  • RCD Mallorca
  • Osasuna
  • Rayo Vallecano
  • Real Betis
  • Real Madrid
  • Real Sociedad
  • Sevilla
  • Valencia
  • Villarreal CF

Upcoming La Liga Fixtures

Here's a rolling list of upcoming La Liga fixtures, including start times for the UK and US. All times and fixtures are subject to change, and if scheduling information is missing it will be added as soon as possible.

Tuesday, September 21

Getafe vs. Atletico Madrid - 12:30 pm EST on ESPN+ / 6:30 pm BST on La Liga TV

Levante vs. Celta Vigo - 1:30 pm EST on ESPN+ / 9:00 pm BST on La Liga TV and Premier Sports 1

Athletic Bilbao vs. Rayo Vallecano - 3:00 pm EST on ESPN+ / 9:00 pm BST on La Liga TV

Wednesday, September 22

Espanyol vs. Alavés - 1:30 pm EST on ESPN+ / 6:30 pm BST on Free Sports 

Sevilla FC vs. Valencia - 1:30 pm EST on ESPN+ / 6:30 pm BST on La Liga TV

Real Madrid vs. RCD Mallorca - 4:00 pm EST on ESPN+ / 9:00 pm BST on La Liga TV

Villarreal vs. Elche - 4:00 pm EST on ESPN+ / 9:00 pm BST on Free Sports

Thursday, September 23

Granada vs. Real Sociedad - 1:30 pm EST on ESPN+ / 6:30 pm BST on La Liga TV

Osasuna vs. Real Betis - 1:30 pm EST on ESPN+ / 6:30 pm BST on La Liga TV

Cádiz vs. Barcelona - 4:00 pm EST on ESPN+ / 9:00 pm BST on La Liga TV

Saturday, September 25

Alavés vs. Atletico Madrid - 8:00 am EST on ESPN+ / 1:00 pm BST on La Liga TV

Valencia vs. Athletic Bilbao - 10:15 am EST on ESPN+ / 3:15 pm BST 

Sevilla vs. Espanyol - 12:30 pm EST on ESPN+ and ESPN Deportes / 5:30 pm BST on La Liga TV

Real Madrid vs. Villarreal - 3:00 pm EST on ESPN+ / 8:00 pm BST on La Liga TV

Sunday, September 26

Mallorca vs. Osasuna - 8:00 am EST on ESPN+ / 1:00 pm BST on La Liga TV

Barcelona vs. Levante - 10:15 am EST on ESPN+ /  3:15 pm BST on La Liga TV

Ray Vallecano vs. Cádiz - 12:30 pm EST on ESPN+ / 5:30 pm BST

Real Sociedad vs. Elche - 12:30 pm EST on ESPN+ / 5:30 pm BST on La Liga TV

Real Betis vs. Getafe - 3:00 pm EST on ESPN+ / 8:00 pm BST on La Liga TV

Monday, September 27

Celta Vigo vs. Granada - 3:00 pm EST on ESPN+ / 8:00 pm BST 

Phil Nickinson

Phil spent his 20s in the newsroom of the Pensacola (Fla.) News Journal, his 30s on the road for AndroidCentral.com and Mobile Nations, is the Dad part of Modern Dad, and is editor of WhatToWatch.com.