Skip to main content

How to watch MLB baseball on ESPN Plus

Vlad Guerrero Jr. at the plate
(Image credit: Jim McIsaac/Getty Images)

ESPN Plus is ready to play ball, as the streaming service will carry MLB (Major League Baseball) throughout the 2022 regular season. Whether you’re a fan of the New York Yankees or Boston Red Sox, the Chicago Cubs or the St. Louis Cardinals, MLB on ESPN Plus will offer live games all season long.

Here is everything you need to know about how to watch MLB on ESPN Plus.

Upcoming baseball games on ESPN Plus

The baseball season is rolling along and ESPN Plus is streaming one game each day (local blackout restrictions apply). Here's the schedule for this week, May 16 to May 22:

  • May 16: Atlanta Braves vs Milwaukee Brewers, 7:40 pm ET/4:40 pm PT
  • May 17: Chicago White Sox vs Kansas City Royals, 2:10 pm ET/11:10 am PT
  • May 18: Seattle Mariners vs Toronto Blue Jays, 7:07 pm ET/4:07 pm PT
  • May 19: St. Louis Cardinals vs New York Mets, 1:10 pm ET/10:10 am PT
  • May 20: Los Angeles Dodgers vs Philadelphia Phillies, 7:05 pm ET/4:05 pm PT
  • May 21: Chicago White Sox vs New York Yankees, 1:05 pm ET/10:05 am PT
  • May 22: Oakland Athletics vs Los Angeles Angels, 4:07 pm ET/1:07 pm PT

How to watch MLB on ESPN Plus

ESPN Plus is a subscription streaming service that is available just to US consumers. As a standalone service, ESPN Plus costs $6.99 per month or $69.99 if you sign up for a full year. Consumers can also sign up for ESPN Plus via the Disney Bundle, which combines ESPN Plus, Disney Plus and Hulu for a single monthly fee. The sports-centric streaming service has also become a standard feature for all subscribers of Hulu with Live TV.

ESPN Plus does not currently offer a free trial.

After signing up for ESPN Plus, consumers will have access to available MLB games (local market blackout restrictions do apply to out-of-market games), as well as the MLB archives featuring classic games and historic baseball moments. ESPN Plus also offers coverage of the Little League World Series when that gets underway.

You’ll be able to find available games on the ESPN Plus home page when logged in as well as on the ESPN Plus MLB page.

ESPN Plus can be streamed via a computer; Roku; Amazon Fire TV; Xfinity devices; Samsung or other smart TVs; Xbox One and Xbox Series X|S consoles; PlayStation 4 and 5; Apple products; Android phones, tablets and TVs; Google Chromecast; via the Hulu app; and even an Oculus Go. Consumers can also AirPlay ESPN Plus onto their TVs. 

What else you need to know about ESPN Plus

ESPN Plus is a standalone streaming service from ESPN, the Disney-owned cable sports network that bills itself as the "worldwide leader in sports." ESPN Plus streams live sports for college football, college basketball, NHL, the PGA Tour, UFC fights and more. ESPN Plus also has its own slate of original programming, provides access to the full library of 30 for 30 sports documentaries and gives subscribers access to premium ESPN articles and daily radio telecasts. 

Michael Balderston is a DC-based entertainment and assistant managing editor for What to Watch, who has previously written about the TV and movies with TV Technology, Awards Circuit and regional publications. Spending most of his time watching new movies at the theater or classics on TCM, some of Michael's favorite movies include Casablanca, Moulin Rouge!, Silence of the Lambs, Children of Men, One Flew Over the Cuckoos Nest and Star Wars. On the TV side he enjoys Peaky Blinders, The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel, Saturday Night Live, Only Murders in the Building and is always up for a Seinfeld rerun.