How to watch Black Widow

Scarlett Johannson as Natasha Maximoff in "Black Widow."
Scarlett Johannson as Natasha Maximoff in "Black Widow." (Image credit: Marvel Studios)

Natasha Maximoff didn't have an easy life in her pre-Avengers days. The same could be said about the standalone Black Widow movie itself, which saw delays of more than a year due to the global pandemic.

But the first MCU film in the post-Endgame world finally is getting its day in the sun. Black Widow was also the first Marvel movie to see a dual release, hitting theaters and Disney Plus on the very same day.

Here's everything you need to know about how to watch Black Widow.

How to watch Black Widow on Disney Plus

If you've been eager to watch Black Widow but didn't want to venture to the theater or spend $30 to watch it on Disney Plus, good news, the film is now available for all Disney Plus subscribers to stream for free.

About three months after its release, Disney Plus removed Black Widow from its Disney Plus Premier Access paywall and made it available at no additional cost to subscribers. 

Other ways to watch 'Black Widow'

You don't have to be a Disney Plus subscriber to watch Black Widow, however. The Marvel film is available to rent or purchase digitally via multiple online platforms, including YouTube, Google Play, iTunes and Amazon Prime Video. It generally costs $5.99 to rent on any of these services.

Still a fan of physical media? The DVD/Blu-ray for Black Widow was released on Sept. 14 and features plenty of bonus content, including deleted scenes, features and everybody's favorite thing, bloopers.

The four phases of the MCU

The Marvel Cinematic Universe is made up of four phases, with the "Infinity Saga" making up Phase 3. Black Widow is scheduled to be the first movie of Phase 4, but its release was delayed due to the global pandemic shutting down theaters.

MCU Phase 1

MCU Phase 2

MCU Phase 3

MCU Phase 4

Phil Nickinson

Phil spent his 20s in the newsroom of the Pensacola (Fla.) News Journal, his 30s on the road for and Mobile Nations and is the Dad part of Modern Dad.